LINKEDIN 1 COMMENTMORE

What should you read this weekend? USA TODAY’s picks for book lovers include two new psychological thrillers in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn; William Morrow, 427 pp.; fiction

Alfred Hitchcock’s Rear Window is the obvious inspiration for The Woman in the Window. (Girl on the Train’s alcoholic, voyeuristic Rachel can’t be overlooked, either.)

Author A.J. Finn, a gender-neutral pseudonym for former William Morrow executive editor Daniel Mallory, knows his classic movies (there’s even a character named Jane Russell!).

Like James Stewart in Rear Window, Anna Fox is a shut-in who spies on her neighbors with a telephoto lens. Unlike Jimmy Stewart, Anna isn’t wheelchair-bound with a broken leg; she’s a child psychologist paralyzed by panic attacks.

Her husband and young daughter have moved out (why?), so Anna keeps herself occupied by mixing pills and booze, running an online chat for fellow agoraphobics and spying on the new neighbors across the park who paid $3.45 million for a “landmark 19th century Harlem gem!” of a brownstone. (Million Dollar Listing New York has nothing on this novel.)

Then Anna sees what appears to be a bloody murder through the window…but nobody believes her.

USA TODAY says ★★★ out of four. “There’s something irresistible about this made-for-the-movies tingler. Finn knows how to pleasurably wind us up.”

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen; St. Martin’s Press, 343 pp.; fiction

Vanessa has suffered the ultimate New York humiliation: She’s been dumped by her hedge-fund husband, Richard, and now she’s determined to stop Richard’s remarriage to her “replacement.” Is it sheer jealousy, or something else?

USA TODAY says ★★★. “Built around a deliciously clever premise…psychologically astute.”

The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando by Paul Kix; Harper, 222 pp.; non-fiction

Tells the true story of Robert de La Rochefoucauld who was still in his teens when he decided to follow exiled French Gen. Charles de Gaulle's call for resistance against the Nazis in 1940.

USA TODAY says ★★★½. “Promises the reader a wild ride that would put Dan Brown, Agatha Christie or Tom Clancy to shame…an enjoyable read.”

Artemis by Andy Weir; Crown, 305 pp.; fiction

It’s late in this century, up on the moon, and Jasmine Bashara, nicknamed Jazz, is a struggling 26-year-old Saudi citizen who has lived in Artemis, a lunar city of 2,000 diverse earthlings, since she was 6.

USA TODAY says ★★★. “An action-packed techno-thriller of the first order.”

Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children by Sara Zaske; Picador, 239 pp.; non-fiction

America may be the land of the free, home of the brave, but it's Germany whose children display independence and whose parents have the courage to take a step back, writes Zaske, who with her husband moved from Oregon to Germany, toddler in tow.

USA TODAY says ★★★. Achtung Baby is “not judgmental, prescriptive or didactic… ideal for parents of young ones.”

Contributing reviewers: Jocelyn McClurg, Zlati Meyer, David Holahan, Anne Godlasky

CLOSE

From real-life political thrillers, juicy memoirs and the life of our American Princess, here’s a sneak peek at the some of the most anticipated books of 2018. USA TODAY

 

LINKEDIN 1 COMMENTMORE
Read or Share this story: https://usat.ly/2Ddw6ns